|  首頁  |   聯絡我們  |  連結  |  ENG   |    


 

 
地理與歷史
 

 

地理

 

塞舌爾是西印度洋群島國家,由115個花崗岩島嶼和珊瑚礁島嶼組成,分佈在南緯4度至10度的西印度洋上,在距離非洲東海岸480公里至1600公里的範圍內。西距肯雅蒙巴薩港1593公里,西南距馬達加斯加925公里,南與毛里裘斯隔海相望,距印度孟買2813公里。它是寧靜、和諧和永恆美麗的代言詞。塞舌爾總面積為456平方公里,海洋專屬經濟區約為140萬平方公里。115個島嶼中,41個內島是世界上最古老的花崗岩島嶼,74個外島集中分佈在5個區,由珊瑚環礁和暗礁組成。

內島多是花崗岩礁,主要分佈在主島馬埃(它是國際機場和首都維多利亞所在之島)、普拉蘭和拉迪戈三大島周圍。這三大島是塞舌爾的文化、經濟和旅遊中心,也是大多數塞舌爾旅遊設施、酒店和美麗海灘的所在地。

一系列由波光粼粼的低窪地帶珊瑚島嶼、沙洲和環礁收集而成5組獨立的外島,其中包括聯合國教科文組織在塞舌爾所列二個文化遺產之一:令人驚訝的“阿達布拉環礁”,亦為地球上最大的珊瑚環礁;另一個則是為神話般的 ”五月谷”, 乃特殊的海底椰堅果於古老的棕櫚樹上生長的地方,亦因此為塞舌爾贏得聖經上所載伊甸園的美譽。

 

 
氣候

 

塞舌爾屬熱帶雨林氣候,全年氣溫介乎24℃-32℃之間。由於位處氣旋帶以外,從來沒有颱風,每天日照時間更長達7小時以上,是陽光與海灘愛好者的天堂。

塞舌爾雖屬熱帶氣候,但島上沒有熱帶疾病如:瘧疾,黃熱病,因此出發前無須接受防疫注射。

3-4月是最炎熱的月份,但陰涼處的氣溫亦不高於30℃,而7-8月是最涼快的月份,氣溫有時會低至21℃。

5-10月通常吹東南信風,受到輕微海風的影響,氣溫相對較低亦較乾爽。12-3月刮東北西南季候風,亦是最熱和最潮濕的月份,平均濕度高達65%。5-10月的海面風浪很大,因此這段時間較不太適宜釣魚。

 

 
時間

 

塞舌爾標準時間是比格林威治時間快4小時 (即比香港或中國慢4小時)。

塞舌爾並沒有實行夏令時間。
 
歷史

塞舌爾是一個相對年輕的國家,但早於1770年便有第一批法國人帶領一群白人、印度人和非洲人到島上居住。這個島的管治亦一直留在法國人手中,直到拿破崙在滑鐵盧戰敗,法國終於在巴黎條約(1814年)下把塞舌爾割讓給英國;而當時塞舌爾已從卑微的起源演變成一個擁有3,500人口的島國。

在法國管治期間,塞舌爾經歷過皮亞‧樸斐爾的開明管治、吉爾‧昆西總督的輝煌的政治,當然還有法國大革命所帶來的可怕後果。

在英國管治時期,塞舌爾的人口於1825年達至約7,000人。當時,建立了重要的分區以種植椰子、糧食作物、棉花和甘蔗。在此期間,塞舌爾已把維多利亞定為首都,並見證了眾多從帝國流亡到此的滋事份子、1862年的著名雪崩所造成的破壞和廢除奴隸制度後的經濟反響。

塞舌爾於1976年脫離英國獨立,成為英聯邦內的共和國。獨立後渡過了由阿爾拔‧勒內先生政府單一政黨統治的時期,總統勒內終於在1991年12月4日宣佈恢復多黨制政府。在1993年,根據新憲法舉行了首次多黨制總統和議會選舉,總統勒內取得了勝利。總統勒內亦在1998年和2003年的大選中獲得勝利,但終於在2004年6月把總統一職移交予占士‧米塞先生。

|  Home  |   Contact US  |  Links   |   中文   |    


 

 
GEOGRAPHY & HISTORY
 

 

GEOGRAPHY

 

The Republic of Seychelles comprises 115 islands occupying a land area of 455 km² and an Exclusive Economic Zone of 1.4 million km² in the western Indian Ocean. It represents an archipelago of legendary beauty that extends from between 4 and 10 degrees south of the equator and which lies between 480km and 1,600km from the east coast of Africa. Of these 115 islands, 41 constitute the oldest mid-oceanic granite islands on earth while a further 74 form the low-lying coral atolls and reef islands of the Outer Islands.

The granitic islands of the Seychelles archipelago cluster around the main island of Mahé, home to the international airport and the capital, Victoria, and its satellites Praslin and La Digue. Together, these Inner Islands form the cultural and economic hub of the nation and contain the majority of Seychelles’ tourism facilities as well as its most stunning beaches.

A sparkling collection of low lying, coral isles, sand cays and atolls make up 5 separate groups of Outer Islands which include one of two of Seychelles' UNESCO World Heritage Sites, amazing 'Aldabra', the largest raised coral atoll on earth. The other, the fabulous Vallée de Mai where the extraordinary Coco-de-mer nut grows on ancient palms, once earned Seychelles the reputation for being the original site of the biblical Garden of Eden.

 

 
CLIMATE

 

Seychelles’ enviable climate is always warm and without extremes. In this tropical haven the temperature seldom drops below 24°C or rises above 32°C. All but the remotest southern islands lie comfortably outside the cyclone belt and the average daily period of sunshine is in excess of 7 hours making Seychelles’ a year round destination for sun worshippers and beach lovers.

The climate is healthy and many tropical diseases such as malaria and yellow fever are unknown. Vaccinations are unnecessary.

March and April are the hottest months but shade temperatures seldom exceed 30°C and during the coolest months of July and August may drop to as low as 21°C.

The south-east trade winds blow regularly from May to October when the temperature is slightly lower and the atmosphere less humid due to the mild sea-breezes. The north-west monsoon prevails from December to March which become the hottest and wettest months with humidity averaging 65%. The sea is roughest from May to October; consequently this time of the year is less suitable for fishing.

 

 
TIME

 

Seychelles Standard Time is 4 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+4).

Seychelles does not operate Daylight-Saving Time.
 
HISTORY

Seychelles is a comparatively young nation which can trace its first settlement back to 1770 when the islands were first settled by the French, leading a small party of whites, Indians and Africans. The islands remained in French hands until the defeat of Napoleon at Waterloo, evolving from humble beginnings to attain a population of 3,500 by the time Seychelles was ceded to Britain under the treaty of Paris in 1814.

During this period Seychelles came to know the enlightened policies of administrators such as Pierre Poivre, the brilliant politicking of Governor Queau de Quinssy and, of course, the terrible repercussions of the French Revolution.

Under the British, Seychelles achieved a population of some 7,000 by the year 1825. Important estates were established during this time producing coconut, food crops, cotton and sugar cane. During this period Seychelles also saw the establishment of Victoria as her capital, the exile of numerous and colourful troublemakers from the Empire, the devastation caused by the famous Avalanche of 1862 and the economic repercussions of the abolition of slavery.

Seychelles achieved independence from Britain in 1976 and became a republic within the commonwealth. Following a period of single party rule by the government of Mr. France Albert René, on December 4, 1991, President René announced a return to the multiparty system of government, 1993 saw the first multiparty presidential and legislative elections held under a new constitution in which President René was victorious. President René also won the 1998 and 2003 elections before transferring the Presidency to James Alix Michel in June 2004.